Real Name:
Chad Robert Turton
Born on: November 15, 1974

Chad Robert Turton is the rhythm guitarist and lead singer for the band ‘Nickelback’ born on November 15, 1974 in Hanna, Alberta, Canada. Chad adopted the surname of his brother ‘Mike Kroeger’ and named himself as ‘Chad Kroeger’. ‘Nickelback’ is a Grammy Award-nominated Canadian hard rock band

Chad Robert Turton - Nickelback
Chad Robert Turton - Nickelback

Chad Kroeger initially started playing guitar in a cover band. Chad wanted to play for his own songs, so with the collection of his songs he went to Vancouver to record the band in a friend’s studio. Based on the results, Chad Kroeger formed the band ‘Nickelback’ with his brother Mike Kroeger on bass, lead guitarist Ryan Peake and their cousin Brandon Kroeger on drums in Hanna, Alberta. In 1996, the band relocated to Vancouver, released Extended Play ‘Hesher’ and their debut album ‘Curb’ and pushed their album by cross-country touring.

Chad Kroeger performed the theme song titled “Hero” for the blockbuster movie ‘Spider-Man’ in 2002 along with ‘Theory of a Deadman’ guitarist Tyler Connolly, ‘Saliva’ vocalist Josey Scott and ‘Pearl Jam’ drummer Matt Cameron.  Chad Kroeger founded a record label ‘604 Records’ along with attorney Jonathan Walvatne in the year 2002 and the bands which are currently signed to the label are ‘Armchair Cynics’, ‘Marianas Temple’, ‘Thornley’, ‘Theory of a Deadman’ and ‘The Organ’. Kroeger wrote a song ‘Why Don’t You & I’ and featured in the album ‘Shaman’ of Carlos Sanatan’s band ‘Santana’ in 2002.

Chad Kroeger suggested Alex Band, a solo musician as a replacement for re-recording the single ‘Why Don’t You & I’ in 2004. Kroeger wrote and played guitar in the album ‘You’re Everything’, a debut album of Bo Bice.

Chad Kroeger featured on the second solo album ‘The Ride’ and played on the song ‘Trying to be Me’ of Tommy Lee in 2005. He played his first single ‘Into the Night’ for Carlos Sanatan’s album ‘Ultimate Santana' which was released on August 20, 2007.  

Some of his albums include:

  • Curb
  • The State
  • Silver Side Up
  • The Long Road
  • All the Right Reasons

Some of his singles include:

  • Fly
  • Leader of Men
  • Breathe
  • Old Enough
  • Worthy to Say
  • How You Remind Me
  • Too Bad
  • Never Again
  • Someday
  • Figured You Out
  • Feelin’ Way Too Damn Good
  • See You at the Show
  • Because of You
  • Animals
  • If Everyone Cared
  • Far Away
  • Side of a Bullet
  • Savin’ Me