Real Name: Joshua Michael Homme
Born: May 17, 1973

Joshua Michael Homme is an American Rock musician born on May 17, 1973 in Joshua Tree, California. Joshua Homme is a multi-instrumentalist and is known for contributing to play the drums, bass and keyboard.

Joshua Homme is the founding member and only continuous member of the hard rock band “Queens of the Stone Age” and the desert rock band “Kyuss”. He also formed the band “Eagles of Death Metal’ along with Jesse Hughes.

Joshua Homme
Joshua Homme

Joshua Homme grew up in the suburbs of Palm Desert and learnt playing guitar at the age of nine. At the age of 14 in 1987, Homme formed a local stoner band “Sons of Kyuss”, which was later shortened to “Kyuss”, the band released several recordings and became popular in the early 1990s.

Joshua Homme got split from the band “kyuss” in 1995. He later joined the grunge act “The Screaming Trees” as their second guitarist and went on tour. Homme and lead guitarist of “The Screaming Trees”, Mark Lanegan became close friends during this tour. Homme formed the band “Queens of the Stone Age” and recruited Mark Lanegan as an additional vocalist. In 1998, the band released their eponymous debut album, which followed with several EP’s and singles. Homme has used much of graphic language and toyed with multiple genres for his first album “Deaf” with Queens of the Stone Age (QOTSA). QOTSA released their fifth full length album “Era Vulgaris” in June 2007, which includes Homme’s latest work with the band.

Joshua Homme has worked on many other side projects by collaborating with other bands, which include “Foo Fighters”, “PJ Harvey”, “Mark Lanegan Band”, “Mondo Generator”, “Fatso Jetson”, “Trent Reznor”, “Millionaire”, “Masters of Reality”, “U.N.K.L.E”, “Wellwater Conspiracy”, “Melissa Auf der Maur”, “A Perfect Circle”, “Paz Lenchantin”, “Death from Above 1979, Earthings?”, “Local H”, “Mastondon” and “Peaches”.

Some of his albums include:

  • Sons of Kyuss (1990)
  • Wretch (1991)
  • Blues for the Red Sun (1992)
  • Welocme to Sky Valley (1994)
  • …And the Circus Leaves Town (1995)
  • Shine! (1996)
  • Kyuss/Queens of the Stone Age (1997)
  • The Split CD (1998)
  • Queens of the Stone Age (1998)
  • Rated R (2000)
  • Songs for the Deaf (2002)
  • Stone Age Complications (2004)
  • Lullabies to Paralyze (2005)
  • Over the Years and Through the Woods (2005)
  • Era Vulgaris (2007)